Dreadmoor Demo: October 6, 2026
The Dreadmoor demo launches on Steam October 6, 2026. What's in it, how it differs from the playtests, and what officials have said about saves.
Last updated: September 25, 2026
A free Dreadmoor demo launches on Steam for PC on October 6, 2026. The developers announced the date on July 16, 2026 during the Secret Sauce Showcase, and it is the first broadly playable build most people will get — the earlier tests were time-limited playtests, not a demo.
What the demo includes
The official demo announcement lists the systems you can exercise end to end:
- Explore the Submerged Lands — a flooded, slowly mutating post-apocalyptic region, with the harbour as your starting point once you secure a vessel.
- Grappling Hook Gun — retrieve drifting cargo from the water.
- Lockpicking and puzzles — pick locked containers and solve environmental puzzles.
- Ship's radio — tune it to uncover new destinations across the flooded world.
- Fish, process, and trade — catch peaceful and predatory fish, process your catch into useful materials, and trade fish and salvaged resources with the people still living there.

The press release around the announcement adds flavor worth knowing before you play: fish can be sold to buy gear or dissected for rare organs used to craft lures, wreckage and scrap feed boat upgrades, and the bait shop in the demo sits on a set of gigantic crab legs. According to the official copy, the demo lets you "explore DREADMOOR's core gameplay systems and discover what life is like after the collapse of the world."
Demo vs. playtests — and your saves
The demo follows five playtests (January 2026, the Steam Ocean Fest preview in May, June, August 11–17, and the Open Playtest on September 10–14). Two facts from that history matter:
- Playtest saves never carried over. The developers stated this directly in the August playtest FAQ: progress "will not be retained for future playtests / demos / betas / the full game," and they asked players to delete old save folders.
- A lot was reworked between tests. The September Open Playtest notes list a reworked quest chain, improved areas, new fish, updated dialogue, and changes to the fishing system itself — so any guide or video from before the demo may describe systems that have since changed.
How to get the demo on October 6
The demo installs through the game's official Steam page — the same page you wishlist on. Wishlist now and Steam notifies you the moment it goes live; otherwise, the demo becomes a plainly visible install option on the page from October 6, 2026 onward.
A few practical notes for day one. It is a Windows-PC download (no console or Mac version exists), it is free with no purchase or preorder required, and it installs through regular Steam — no separate launcher, no key redemption. Check the system requirements against your machine beforehand so the first session is spent fishing, not staring at a settings menu.
Whether the demo remains installed and playable after the full game launches has not been stated — historically, Steam demos often stay up, but this team wipes nothing casually, so treat any demo save as temporary regardless. And if you want a head start before playing, the pages on this site that describe each system — fishing, bait, crafting, upgrades — all get re-verified against the demo build the day it lands, so the guides you read now will be the guides that match what you play.
What the demo does not include
The announcement lists what is in; it is just as useful to know what is not confirmed. No demo length has been stated — how many hours of content it carries is unknown until players get their hands on it. No download size has been published either, though the full game's 60 GB listing suggests clearing a healthy amount of space.
Save policy is the biggest open question: the developers have not said whether demo progress carries into the full game. Their track record is clean-slate — every playtest's progress was explicitly wiped — so the demo guide's working assumption is that demo saves stay in the demo until told otherwise.
⚠️ Treat demo progress as demo progress
The developers have applied a clean-slate policy to every test so far. Until they say otherwise, it is safest to expect demo progress to stay in the demo — plan your first sessions for learning the systems, not for building ahead.
Before you start
- Skim the beginner guide for the core loop, and the fishing guide for how the skill-based system is supposed to work.
- Check the system requirements — the recommended spec targets smooth ray tracing on Unreal Engine 5.
- The demo is single-player; there is no co-op (multiplayer status).
When the demo goes live, we will re-verify every guide on this site against it, starting with the systems listed above.
Dreadmoor demo FAQ
Is the Dreadmoor demo free?
Yes. Steam demos are free by definition, and the October 6, 2026 demo requires no purchase, no preorder, and no key — it installs from the official store page.
Do demo saves carry over to the full game?
Not stated. Playtest saves never carried over, and the developers have not committed either way for the demo — plan for a clean start at launch.
How long is the demo?
Unknown. No length estimate has been published; day-one players will find out what the demo contains on October 6, and this page updates with what they report.
Do I need to have played the playtests?
No — and it would not help. The playtests were time-limited, their saves were wiped, and the demo's build is newer than anything the tests contained.
Is the demo multiplayer?
No. Dreadmoor is single-player only, and the demo is no exception (multiplayer status).
What platforms is the demo on?
PC via Steam, Windows only. There is no console, Mac, or Linux version of either the demo or the game (platform details).
Does the demo have achievements?
Not stated. Steam achievements are confirmed for the full game, but whether the demo carries its own achievement list has not been announced.
Will the demo stay available after the full game launches?
Nothing has been said either way. Steam demos typically remain on their store pages, but there is no promise here — if keeping it matters to you, that is one more reason wishlist notifications and day-one play are worth planning for.